Our vehicles

280 SL

Details

Year of construcion: 1970
Kilometers: 97.800 km
Paintwork: white
Interior: leather red
Special features: Radio Becker Europe, leather interior, Hardtop
Price: 109.900,-

The series

The W 113 is a two-seater convertible with a retractable roof from Mercedes-Benz, which was launched in March 1963 at the Geneva Motor Show. It also replaced the 190 SL and 300 SL models. It was nicknamed Pagoda for its optional concave hardtops.

It was manufactured a total of 48,912 times as the 230 SL (1963-1967), 250 SL (1967) and 280 SL (1968-1971) models, with the option of manual or automatic transmission. The W 113 marked the transition from the rounded shape of the previous model to a very pragmatic style. The goal of this design development was to set it apart from its predecessor and aspire to a ‘masculine’ appearance. Smooth surfaces, plenty of usable space and the absence of decorative elements are what make the Pagoda SL stand out. The main sales market was the USA, with the majority of the vehicles going to California. When production, marked by a large number of intermittent mechanical changes, was ended on 23 February 1971, more than half of the vehicles had been sold outside of Germany, particularly in the USA. On 1 January 2012, 4,245 of the three-model series were still registered in Germany.[2] The considerable number of deregistered SL vehicles in the process of restoration or waiting to be restored was not included. SLs from this series are only scrapped very seldom, even if they are in a terrible condition (due to an accident, corrosion, defective mechanics, etc.). What’s more, the modular system simplifies the installation of the largely identical (except for the engine of the 230 SL) and readily available mechanics of the limousines following complete, costly repair of the bodywork.

The vehicle

This 280 SL Pagoda is a German vehicle in a condition that is hard to find nowadays. The original interior gives the vehicle an incredible patina appearance. It has only been repainted over the years.

Its mileage of just 97,800 km is fully documented in the service booklet. The vehicle has matching numbers, highlighting its original condition from a technological standpoint. The Pagoda was owned by a vegetable wholesaler from Tübingen from 1977 until 2015. This is also recorded on the available registration document.

Unsere Fahrzeuge

280 SL

Details

Baujahr: 1970
Kilometerstand: 97.800 km
Lack: weiß
Polster: Leder rot
Besonderheiten: Radio Becker Europa, Lederausstattung, Hardtop

Die Baureihe

Der W 113 ist ein zweisitziges Faltdach-Cabriolet von Mercedes-Benz, das im März 1963 auf dem Genfer Auto-Salon vorgestellt wurde. Er sollte gleichzeitig die Typen 190 SL und 300 SL ersetzen. Wegen seines zusätzlich lieferbaren, nach innen gewölbten Hardtops erhielt er den Spitznamen Pagode.

mehr lesen

Er wurde in den Versionen 230 SL (1963–1967), 250 SL (1967) und 280 SL (1968–1971), wahlweise mit Schalt- oder Automatikgetriebe insgesamt 48.912 mal gebaut. Der W 113 markiert den Übergang von den rundlichen Formen des Vorgängermodells zu einem mehr sachlichen Stil. Das Ziel bei der Designentwicklung bestand darin, sich vom Vorgänger deutlich abzugrenzen und ein „maskulines“ Erscheinungsbild anzustreben. Glatte Flächen, viel Nutzraum und den Verzicht auf Zierelemente zeichnen den Pagoden-SL aus. Der Hauptabsatzmarkt waren die USA, hier wiederum ging ein Großteil der Fahrzeuge nach Kalifornien. Als die Produktion, die durch eine große Anzahl zwischenzeitlicher technischer Veränderungen gekennzeichnet war, am 23. Februar 1971 auslief, waren mehr als die Hälfte der Fahrzeuge außerhalb Deutschlands, insbesondere in die USA, verkauft worden. Am 1. Januar 2012 waren in Deutschland noch 4.245 Exemplare der drei Modellreihen zugelassen.[2] Nicht erfasst ist eine erhebliche Zahl abgemeldeter, in Restaurierung stehender oder auf die Restaurierung wartender SL-Fahrzeuge. Ein SL dieser Baureihe wird nur noch sehr selten verschrottet, selbst in schlechtestem Zustand (verunfallt, korrodiert, Mechanik defekt). Zudem ist es nach kompletter, aufwendiger Instandsetzung der Karosserie aufgrund des Baukastensystems auch leicht, die weitenteils identische (bis auf den Motor des 230 SL) und gut verfügbare Technik der Limousinen zu implantieren.

Das Fahrzeug

Bei dieser 280 SL Pagode handelt es sich um ein deutsches Fahrzeug in einem Zustand, wie er heute kaum noch zu finden ist. Die originale Innenausstattung verleiht dem Fahrzeug eine sagenhafte Patina. Lediglich die Lackierung wurde im Laufe der Zeit erneuert.

mehr lesen

Die Laufleistung von nur 97.800 km kann durch das Serviceheft lückenlos belegt werden. Das Fahrzeug hat Matching Numbers, was seinen originalen Zustand auch in der Technik unterstreicht. Die Pagode befand sich von 1977 bis 2015 im Besitz eines Gemüsegroßhändlers aus Tübingen. Dies lässt sich auch Anhand des vorhandenen Pappbriefes nachvollziehen.